It’s Not You, It’s Me

It is not you, it is me.  

No, this is not a line to call quits on a relationship; not at all.

More like a barrier blocking uninvited acquaintances from entering my territory.

You see, you invaded my space, and I can have none of that.

My protective instincts sent a warning signal blocking this type of communication, and, well, you walked right through it without a problem.

And, this is a problem.

Because you crossed my invisible boundary line.

Uninvited.

And, this presented a quandary because I am not known as mean or rude.  So, I allowed myself to entertain pleasantries, when I really wanted to push you away and say:

Get out of here.  

Leave me alone.  

You’re invading my personal space.

“Why am I so bothered?”  The question reeled in my conscious as to what was really the big deal.

It is just pleasant conversation.

Maybe I am overreacting.

Maybe not.

The last time a man invaded my space in such a manner as this–well, it was quite similar to your presentation.

He assured me of his intentions being honorable, and before long, I wholeheartedly believed him.

But, before the beginning of a new day, his motives would prove insincere.

He invaded my space when he crossed boundary lines that should never have been crossed.

Without my permission.

My instincts–intuition–or perhaps the Spirit Himself, warned me to flee from the scenario before it was too late.

But, I allowed myself to be assured into believing a lie.

My space was invaded–and eventually violated.

Never again, I tell you. 

You see, when you sat beside me without my permission, you actually brought me back to that day all those years ago.

So, how can I say this as kindly as can be…

It is not you, it is me–still, leave me be.  

 

Author: josiebarone

Developing resilience through brokenness

2 thoughts on “It’s Not You, It’s Me”

  1. Hopefully that will do it! I mean really it couldn’t be any plainer. Lessons in life have a way of circling back around…as if God says “here’s you’re second chance”. You did well grasshopper.

    Like

Leave a comment