A Mother’s Undying Wish

I was awakened from a sound sleep by the sound of my cell phone.

In between awake and asleep, I answered the call with a muffled, “Hello.”  Little did I know, a nightmare would ensue which I could not escape.

On the other end I hear fear, which quickly propels my feet to exit the bed.

Her whereabouts are unknown.

She says she is at a certain place, but I do not know the place to which she refers.

Panic sets in.

I simultaneously tell my husband her condition, while asking random questions to discover her whereabouts–

“What do you see around you?”

“Do you know what parking lot you are in?”

We get in the car and keep the conversation going as we drive off in a vague direction.

I tell her to unlock her door, and roll down her window and breath in some fresh air.

“You need to stay awake,” I demand.

I continue with the cell-phone interrogation–

I ask her what she took.

How many.

I want to ask why, but now is not the time.

Instead, I instruct her to keep talking.

Finally, we figure out her location.

As we approach, I see her frame in the driver’s seat–so small in the backdrop of the vast, desolate, dimly-lit parking lot.

I felt such a deep despair overwhelm me at that sight, I still cannot fully articulate with words.

We frantically drive to the hospital and release her into their care.

II

This attempt to end her life was exactly one year ago today.

I have not allowed myself to feel the enormity of this moment.

Oh, I think of it often.  Usually late at night.  I sneak upstairs to make sure her heart still beats.

In relief, I make my way back to my bed.

I guess I am afraid to allow my heart to embrace the idea of her desiring to end her life before its time.

Maybe this is protection on my part.

Maybe because I know this was not her first attempt.

Maybe because I fear it will not be her last.

If there was something I could do, I would do it.

So, I pray.

My wish for her (and her sisters) is simple–that she would love Jesus more than I do.

I say this without a hint of arrogance. Everyone who knows me would attest to the fact that I am head over heals in love with Jesus.

My hope is this great love HE has for her will be reciprocated as a result.

And that this great love will fill the void within.

It is my undying plea I pray on an ongoing basis.

It is not a pollyanna prayer, because I have stood in the depth of depression, and have felt the desperate desire toward death.

But, still.  I know HE is the HOPE that overcomes my momentary ill will.

II

Words exit her mouth the other day, which surprise me and make my heart nearly skip a beat–

She wonders if she can attend a conference called, ‘Passion’, in Houston, which begins on the 30th.

Well, H@#$ yes!

I know every one of the speakers.  I might even admit that they may love Jesus as much as me 🙂

So, my prayer for this weekend is a simple one–

I pray a passion for Jesus will ignite and create a fire for her life she has never known before.

Author: josiebarone

Developing resilience through brokenness

2 thoughts on “A Mother’s Undying Wish”

  1. Your word Lord says in Jeremiah 33:3… Call unto me and I will show you great and mighty things. In Matthew 21:21-22… Your word says to ask and you shall receive. So Lord I am asking and I am calling on you to do and show the Barone family “great and might things”. And I am asking in “faith believing that nothing is impossible for You”. I am asking that this precious daughter in Christ… Lord that she experience a deliverance from the spirit of suicide and experience Your Son, Jesus in such an intimate way. In a way that she will forget all the emotions of her past and move forward feeling the love of Your arms around her. I ask that her thoughts, heart and world be filled with such an amazing JOY for life and all its substance. I pray her eyes open to the one who created her in love, peace, understanding, wisdom, joy… and that from here on out her life will bloom and prosper in and for your kingdom. Anoint her life Lord and call her to the life she is meant to live. Show her, open her heart and eyes to the path You have always wanted for her. Show her the abundance of love and life. Don’t let Satan interrupt. Put a hedge of protection around her. Your word say angels are given charge over us. Lord send your angels now to protect her and guide her in a supernatural way where Satan and his angels can not penetrate. I pray that she celebrates Life. The Life that you made and gave her and that she starts to think and act and be Jesus to everyone she meets. In the Authority that you have given me in the Mighty and Awesome Name of Jesus I ask this and much more for the Barone family. Amen

    Like

Leave a Reply

